Second visit to Tower Bridge and Trinity House

Trinity House
Climbing the main staircase at Trinity House
Tower Bridge
Trying to understand the complex Victorian machinery using steam to power the lifting sections of Tower Bridge, engineering we were told never went wrong and only replaced in 1974 by an German built electric motor which has since failed twice!
Tower Bridge
Walking the overhead gantry above the road part of the bridge, which now has a see through area with reinforced glass as well as mirrors to the roof, allowing for some fun photography!
Trinity House
HMY Britannia now retired to be a museum ship in Leith Docks, but her ship's bell on display at Trinity House
Trinity House
Members of the HROA had no trouble in answering the guide's question about where the Royal Sovereign lightship used to be stationed in British coastal waters!
Trinity House
Although badly damaged by bombing in the last war, the 18th century building has been very sympathetically restored, and added to: In this room on the first floor a number of works of art, including Churchill's pivotal meeting with Roosevelt on the aft deck of HMS The Prince of Wales in Newfoundland, August 1941 can be seen.
Tower Bridge
Many tourists may not be aware of the intricate Victorian machinery that lies beneath this iconic London stone clad structure...